Prof. Dr. Bernd Aulbach

E-mail: N.N.

In Memory of

Bernd Aulbach



Bernd Aulbach



On January 14, 2005, Professor Bernd Aulbach suddenly and unexpectedly passed away at the age of 57 years. The Institute for Mathematics lost a valued colleague, a respected scientist, and a popular university teacher. We are all mourning his death.

Bernd Aulbach was born in Aschaffenburg on December 23, 1947, where he also went to school and graduated with the German high school diploma (Abitur) in 1967. Subsequently, he studied mathematics with a minor in physics in Würzburg. Early on, he discovered his interest in differential equations and consequently wrote his Master's thesis with Professor H. W. Knobloch on the topic: "The Domain of Attractivity of an Asymptotically Stable Solution for Nonautonomous Periodic Differential Equations". He graduated from Würzburg with the Master's degree (Diplom) in 1973 and remained in Würzburg as a scientific assistant to the chair, Professor Knobloch, with whom he completed the Ph.D. degree in 1976 by writing a thesis also on domains of attractivity of stable periodic solutions. He spent the academic year 1978/79 as a Visiting Assistant Professor at State University of New York in Albany. From 1983 until 1986 he had a fellowship from the "Volkswagenwerk Foundation" in order to study the project "Qualitative Analysis of Nonlinear Dynamic Systems by Means of Invariant Manifolds". In the context of this project, his State Doctoral thesis (Habilitationsschrift) "Continuous and Discrete Dynamics near Manifolds of Equilibria" emerged, which also appeared as Lecture Notes published by Springer in 1984. In August 1984, he became a lecturer (Privatdozent) at the University of Würzburg. Subsequently, he was awarded a highly competitive Heisenberg Scholarship from the DFG (German Research Society), which he used to finance a longer stay at the University of California in Berkeley in 1986/87. In the year 1987, he finally accepted a position at the University of Augsburg. In the year 1970, still as a student, he married Gudrun Nöll with whom he had one daughter and two sons; the children were born in the years 1971, 1976, and 1980.

As can be inferred from the quoted topic of his first research project, his interest was devoted to the qualitative theory of dynamical systems. And though he remained faithful to this area, it was natural that the emphasis of his work shifted. His main legacy is without doubt his steady effort to regard continuous and discrete dynamics from a common point of view. This begins 1984 with his Habilitationsschrift and culminates 2001 in his presidency of the "International Society of Difference Equations". He was thereby not only concerned with a new unification of different approaches, but also with bringing together scientists who work and perform research to a large extent separately in the areas of "differential equations" and "difference equations". This effort succeeded with the "Sixth International Conference on Difference Equations", which he organized in Augsburg in 2001. Until his death, he was considerably involved with the continuation of this conference series. Hand in hand with this, one must also recognize his activity as an editor of the "Journal of Difference Equations and Applications", to which, however, his editorial activity was not limited: The journals "Differential Equations and Dynamical Systems" and "Nonlinear Dynamics and Systems Theory" are to be mentioned as well. A crucial tool to build the bridge between continuous and discrete dynamics is the "measure chain calculus", and he was probably the first one to recognize its importance: He had already put the decisive basic principles together with his Ph.D. student S. Hilger in the late Eighties. A further emphasis of his research was nonautonomous systems, which do not produce dynamical systems in the classical sense. Here as well, he emphasized the importance of only measurable time dependence, i.e., he was concerned with a unified qualitative theory for both nonautonomous differential equations and nonautonomous difference equations. At all times he was particularly open for applications.

Together with Professor Colonius he also directed the working group "Dynamics and Control of Ordinary Differential Equations" within the scope of Augsburg's Graduate School (Graduiertenkolleg) in "Nonlinear Problems in Analysis, Geometry, and Physics". This Graduate School was granted to Augsburg in 1996 by the DFG, and from the very beginning, Bernd Aulbach was its speaker. It was also mainly due to his dedicated input that the Graduate School was extended twice and thus the maximum support duration was granted. Unfortunately he was unable to see his favorite project (as he admitted) through to its completion in this year 2005.

As a scientist, Bernd Aulbach was always active and successful, which is documented by his over 60 scientific publications. His text book on "Ordinary Differential Equations", which just appeared in its second edition, is much in demand.

Professor Aulbach was a highly gifted teacher and consequently was very popular among his students. This also resulted in a higher-than-average number of graduate students. His student S. Siegmund received a renowned Emmy Noether Scholarship. Like his lectures, his presentations were characterized by extreme clarity. For this reason, he was invited to many national and international conferences, workshops, and colloquia. In order to participate, he did not hesitate to even take the longest journeys, e.g., to Vietnam, China, or India. As a colleague, Bernd Aulbach was extremely cooperative, and he never refused to serve in committees and advisory commissions. His balanced personality was esteemed, and his ideas advanced many a committee.

The Institute for Mathematics mourns the loss of a universally qualified colleague, a popular teacher, and a friend. We will remember him forever.

Hansjörg Kielhöfer, Augsburg
(translated by Martin Bohner, Rolla)

To the german version of this obituary
To the books of Bernd Aulbach (german version)

Suche

  • Emeriti » 
  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Aulbach (†2005)

Prof. Dr. Bernd Aulbach


E-Mail: N.N.


Im Gedenken an

Bernd Aulbach

(1947-2005)

 

Bernd Aulbach

 

 

Am 14.1.2005 ist Professor Bernd Aulbach im Alter von 57 Jahren plötzlich und unerwartet verstorben. Das Institut für Mathematik hat einen geschätzten Kollegen, einen geachteten Wissenschaftler und einen beliebten Hochschullehrer verloren. Wir alle trauern um ihn.

Bernd Aulbach wurde am 23.12.1947 in Aschaffenburg geboren, wo er auch zur Schule ging und 1967 das Abitur machte. Anschließend studierte er in Würzburg Mathematik mit Nebenfach Physik. Schon früh entdeckte er sein Interesse für Differentialgleichungen und folgerichtig schrieb er seine Diplomarbeit bei Professor H.W. Knobloch über das Thema: "Der Einzugsbereich einer asymptotisch stabilen Lösung bei nichtautonomen periodischen Differentialgleichungen". Das Diplom erhielt er 1973, und er blieb dann wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Lehrstuhl Knobloch, wo er 1976 ebenfalls über Einzugsbereiche stabiler periodischer Lösungen promovierte. Das akademische Jahr 1978/79 verbrachte er als Visiting Assistant Professor an der State University of New York in Albany. Von 1983 bis 1986 wurde er von der Stiftung Volkswagenwerk zur Durchführung des Projekts "Qualitative Analyse nichtlinearer Dynamischer Systeme mittels invarianter Mannigfaltigkeiten" unterstützt. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts entstand seine Habilitationsschrift "Continuous and Discrete Dynamics near Manifolds of Equilibria", welche auch 1984 als Lecture Notes im Springer-Verlag erschien. Im August 1984 wurde er dann Privatdozent an der Universität Würzburg. Anschließend erhielt er von der DFG ein begehrtes Heisenberg-Stipendium, womit er einen längeren Aufenthalt 1986/87 an der University of California in Berkeley finanzierte. Im Jahr 1987 nahm er schließlich den Ruf an die Universität Augsburg an. Im Jahr 1970, noch als Student, heiratete er Gudrun Nöll. Aus dieser Ehe gingen eine Tochter und zwei Söhne hervor, geboren in den Jahren 1971, 1976 und 1980.

Wie dem zitierten Thema seines ersten Forschungsprojekts zu entnehmen ist, galt sein Interesse der Qualitativen Theorie Dynamischer Systeme, und er ist diesem Gebiet treu geblieben, wobei sich naturgemäß die Schwerpunkte verschoben. Als sein Hauptverdienst ist sein durchgehendes Bemühen zu bezeichnen, die kontinuierliche und diskrete Dynamik unter einem einheitlichen Gesichtspunkt zu betrachten. Dies beginnt 1984 in seiner Habilitationsschrift und gipfelt 2001 in seiner Präsidentschaft der "International Society of Difference Equations". Es ging ihm dabei nicht nur um eine neue Vereinheitlichung unterschiedlicher Zugänge, sondern auch um die Zusammenführung der Wissenschaftler, die weitgehend getrennt auf den Gebieten "Differentialgleichungen" und "Differenzengleichungen" arbeiten und forschen. Dies gelang ihm auf der "Sixth International Conference on Difference Equations", die er 2001 in Augsburg organisierte. An der Fortführung dieser Konferenzreihe ist er bis zu seinem Tod maßgeblich beteiligt gewesen. Hand in Hand damit ist seine Tätigkeit als Herausgeber des "Journal of Difference Equations and Applications" zu sehen, worauf sich seine Herausgebertätigkeit aber nicht beschränkte: Es sind die Journale "Differential Equations and Dynamical Systems" sowie "Nonlinear Dynamics and Systems Theory" zu nennen. Ein entscheidendes Hilfsmittel, die Brücke zwischen kontinuierlicher und diskreter Dynamik zu schlagen, ist der "Maßkettenkalkül", dessen Bedeutung er wohl als erster erkannte: Entscheidende Grundlagen hat er mit seinem Doktoranden S. Hilger schon in den späten 80iger Jahren gelegt. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt seiner Forschung waren die nichtautonomen Systeme, welche keine dynamischen Systeme im klassischen Sinne erzeugen. Auch hier legte er großen Wert auf eine nur messbare Zeitabhängigkeit, d.h. es ging ihm um eine einheitliche qualitative Theorie von sowohl nicht autonomen Differentialgleichungen als auch nichtautonomen Differenzengleichungen. Für Anwendungen war er stets aufgeschlossen.

Mit Professor Colonius zusammen leitete er auch die Arbeitsgruppe "Dynamik und Kontrolle gewöhnlicher Differentialgleichungen" im Rahmen unseres Graduiertenkollegs "Nichtlineare Probleme in Analysis, Geometrie und Physik". Dieses Kolleg wurde uns 1996 von der DFG bewilligt, und von Anbeginn an war Bernd Aulbach sein Sprecher. Nicht zuletzt durch seinen unermüdlichen Einsatz wurde das Kolleg zweimal verlängert und somit die maximale Förderdauer bewilligt. Leider war es ihm nicht vergönnt, sein Lieblingsprojekt (wie er mir bekannte) in diesem Jahr 2005 zum Ende zu bringen.

Als Wissenschaftler war Bernd Aulbach stets aktiv und erfolgreich, was seine über 60 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen belegen. Sein Lehrbuch über "Gewöhnliche Differenzialgleichungen", das gerade in der 2. Auflage erschienen ist, ist sehr gefragt.

Professor Aulbach war ein begnadeter Lehrer und infolgedessen bei Studenten und Studentinnen sehr beliebt. Das zeigt sich auch in der überdurchschnittlich großen Zahl seiner Diplomanden und Doktoranden. Sein Schüler S. Siegmund erhielt ein renommiertes Emmy Noether-Stipendium. Wie seine Vorlesungen so zeichneten sich auch seine Vorträge durch große Klarheit aus. Folglich wurde er zu vielen Tagungen, Konferenzen und Kolloquien, national wie international, eingeladen. Er scheute sich nicht, dafür auch weiteste Reisen auf sich zu nehmen, wie z.B. nach Vietnam, China oder Indien. Als Kollege war Bernd Aulbach überaus kooperativ, der sich der Mitarbeit in Gremien und Kommissionen niemals verweigerte. Seine ausgeglichene Art wurde allenthalben sehr geschätzt, seine Ideen haben manche Kommission entscheidend weiter gebracht.

Das Institut für Mathematik hat den Verlust eines rundum qualifizierten Kollegen, eines beliebten Lehrers und eines Freundes zu beklagen. Wir werden seiner auf Dauer gedenken.

Hansjörg Kielhöfer

To the english version of this obituary

Zu den Büchern von Bernd Aulbach, unter anderem mit Lösungen der Aufgaben in seinem Buch 'Gewöhnliche Differenzialgleichungen'.